Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 29th, 2008

I am a huge fan of diner food. I am huge fan of diners of any kind.  One of the greatest things about living in NYC was the availability of top notch, independently-owned diners.

On my way to the bart station I’d always pass by Rudy’s Can’t Fail Cafe.  I have always wondered about it.  In fact, I think one morning I drove there with my mom to get breakfast, but it was packed and we did not feel like waiting.  The mystique of it all! The lone diner on Hollis Street!

Finally went with Irene after a night out in SF, about 2 weeks ago.  It was an average diner that will meet all your average diner expectations.  One thing I thought was spectacular was that they have a pretty sweet deal consisting of french toast AND (sausage or bacon) AND eggs, which would remove my dilemma of going savory or sweet whenever I am ordering breakfast at a diner.  I have to say, the french toast looked good too.  I did not opt for the monster-size combo breakfast though — I ordered a BLT sandwich with fries.  The sandwich was average, the fries were quite good and addictive.

A good go-to place in the East Bay when you are craving diner food. A great go-to place when you are craving diner food after a late night.  And come on! Who does NOT crave diner food after a night out?

photos taken by Irene.

rudy's all-day-breakfast combo

huge breakfast combo

BLT sandwich with fries

BLT sandwich with fries

Rudy’s Can’t Fail Cafe is located at 4081 Hollis Street, Emeryville, CA 94608.

Read Full Post »